Awaken The World Through Enlightened Media

Featured Posts

The Seven Chakras And How To Balance Them

by Sarah Platt Finger: Check out this simple guide to the 7 chakras that I contributed to for Nutritious Life!



The first chakra is all about physical and emotional survival needs and our sense of stability and groundedness, Platt-Finger says. It exists at the base of the spine (hence the name) and is connected to the earth element.

Excessive: feelings of greed, stubbornness, and heaviness (both physical and emotional)

Deficient: flighty and disconnected from your physical needs

How to balance: Meditation can be used to establish a sense of groundedness.


The sacral chakra is associated with the element of water, and it’s all about the flow of creativity and passion. “This chakra deals with our attachments and our aversions, and our likes and dislikes,” Finger says. As you can probably guess from its location in the pelvic region, it’s also linked to sensuality and sexuality.

Excessive: hyper-sexual, easily giving into temptation

Deficient: an inability to experience pleasure

How to balance: Maintain a healthy sex life and show your body respect.


“The third chakra is a lot about transformation,” explains Finger. “It’s how we’re not only able to metabolize our food, but metabolize our thoughts and our emotions so that we have this sense of individuality and independence in the world.” Located just above the navel and represented by the element of fire, when the third chakra is in balance, you’ll have a strong sense of autonomy, self-esteem, and the ability to persevere.

Excessive: feelings of hot-headedness and arrogance

Deficient: timidity and shyness

How to balance: Try yoga asanas like boat pose and warrior poses, and focus on healthy digestion.


Associated with the element of air, the heart chakra serves as a sort of bridge between the lower and upper chakras. It’s all about creating harmony and balance, and as its location (in the chest) and name would suggest, it deals with many emotions—including love for both ourselves and others, says Finger.

Excessive: overly concerned about others (and not in a good way)

Deficient: lack of emotion or compassion

How to balance: Try heart-opening yoga poses and adding a mantra into your meditation, with the sound “yum” which correlates with the fourth chakra.

RELATED: 6 Ways to Conquer Fear for More Happiness and Success


The fifth chakra is all about how we communicate with those around us. When it’s in balance, we’re able to speak our own truths as well as effectively listen to those of others, says Finger. In the body, this chakra is associated with the cervical spine, neck, and throat regions.

Excessive: overly talkative and unable to be in silence

Deficient: unable to effectively communicate or express yourself

How to balance: Practice active listening strategies. Use affirmations to establish what you want to say before you communicate.


In Sanskrit, the sixth chakra’s name translates to “command,” so it’s no wonder that it’s associated with the pituitary gland, AKA your body’s “master gland.” Your intuition (and ability to connect with it), your imagination, and your personal perceptions of the outside world are all governed by the third eye chakra, Finger explains.

Excessive: distorted perceptions

Deficient: unable to see things in a new way

How to balance: This chakra is best balanced by meditation and breathing techniques.


The seventh and final chakra is located at the top of the head. Finger describes this chakra as, “what enables us to connect to all things, in particular, to a realm of this nameless, shapeless, borderless shape of being that’s not really in the physical world but in this more cosmic realm.” (Woah, heady!) Essentially, the crown chakra is what allows you to connect to your spirituality and something deeper than just yourself.

Excessive: a feeling of disconnect from the material world

Deficient: lacking in faith or spirituality

Source: AWAKEN


Related Posts

Get your Life Transforming Become Unshakeable Free Ticket Here